Midnight Heat by Cat Johnson

“It’s all right, you know,” he said.

“What’s all right?”

“That you like me even while I annoy the hell out of you.”

**advance reader copy received via NetGalley**

I just finished Cat Johnson’s newly released Midnight Heat, a contemporary cowboy romance set in Oklahoma and part of her Midnight Cowboys series.  This was my first read by this author and I do not think it will be the last.  At 320 pages, this was a two-evening read for me (thanks to work and real life demands), but I thoroughly enjoyed the story.  The plot was interesting, the characters were real, and the author kept the story interesting.  I also appreciated her take on depression and the impact it makes on the individual and their loves ones.  This tale reminded me of the smaller western-flavored romances that I read in my teens, with a little more depth.  After reading so much mainstream romance, it was very refreshing to get back to this style.

Justin Skaggs is struggling with life demands and a dependent mother suffering from deep depression.  He just needs a break from reality, even if it is just to help his ranch boss’s fiancé move house.  Phoenix Montagno is just trying to get her passport for a trip, but inadvertently comes across her biological mother’s information which kicks off a quest for answers at 25 years of age.  She runs into Justin and trouble at the same time, and fate seems intent on pushing the two unlikely people together.  What starts with secrets could be something more, if they can pull together to stand as a team against the trials ahead.

You can find the author on her website, Facebook, or Twitter.

 

You can find me on GoodreadsFacebook, or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

