The Rogue You Know by Shana Galen

therogueyouknow_shanagalen_july2015

“You step too close to the flames, you will be burned,” he said, his voice low and thick.  She swallowed. “Do you want to be burned?” – The Rogue You Know

*advance reader copy received through NetGalley*

I want to start this review out by saying that I have a mad author crush on Shana Galen, and she has not let me down once as I devoured her historical romances.  When I saw this Covent Garden Cubs series ARC available on NetGalley, I put in a request and crossed my fingers.  Galen’s Lord and Lady Spy series is fabulous, featuring an amazing amount of action, humor, and a very interesting storyline.  This author writes characters that you will love, characters that you will hate, and characters that will give you all the feels.

The Rogue You Know takes readers back to the dangerous Seven Dials area of London, with the Covent Garden Cubs up to no good again.  The author introduces the criminal Gideon as the male lead in this tale, with the proper lady Susanna Derring as the unlikely female counterpart.  Gideon crosses the arch rogue of his own gang in an attempt to run one last job and get himself out of the Dials and out of danger, but this plan somehow runs him straight into Lady Susanna’s clutches at the most desperate moment of her life.  Susanna is ready to make life happen instead of letting life just happen to her, and she is willing to use Gideon to get what she wants.

He raised a finger. “I want credit for the fact that I have not voiced one comment that has crossed my mind these last few moments.” – The Rogue You Know

This 352 page story is full of non-stop action, and class differences may be the least of the worries this couple has to face.  The main characters are repeatedly confronted with life-threatening situations, compromising positions, and the potential for real romance.  Criminals, costume changes, mongrel dogs…what’s not to love?  The description and detail used by the author in The Rogue You Know leave nothing wanting, and I fell in love with the series all over again.  There were so many good quotes and moments in this book that I had to force myself to stop at two quotes.  I absolutely cannot wait to see what this author produces next.

The Viscount of Vice is the first story in the series and you can check out my review here.

Ruckie

You can find the author on her website, Facebook, or Twitter.

If you enjoyed my review, you can find me on Facebook, Twitter, or Goodreads.

One thought on “The Rogue You Know by Shana Galen

Leave a Reply

