The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston

theunleashing_shellylaurenston_apr2015

I love the paranormal romance genre, and as a result of that love I may be borderline stalking some authors.  Under G.A. Aiken, this author writes fabulous dragon shifter books that are hilarious, action-packed and steamy, while her Pride Series books under Shelly Laurenston’s name have been focused on furry shifters (wolves and tigers, for example).  If you have yet to sample any work by this author, you are missing out, and if you have fallen off the bandwagon…dust yourself off and climb back up for this new series.  The Unleashing, the first book in Laurenston’s Call of Crows series, promises to be just as fantastically insane and fun as her previous books.

Kera is a former United States Marine, battle tested and badass but currently struggling through the process of living as a civilian after two deployments.  Stepping in to help someone else comes with a steep price tag, and suddenly adjusting to civilian life takes a back seat to just surviving in general.  Intervention comes in the form of smoking-hot Viking Vig Rundstrom.  Vig arrives just in time to prevent the complete loss of this interesting female, but his help thrusts Kera into a mad juggling of modern life and old-school battle, complete with clans, gods, goddesses…and even a trip to Valhalla.  Will the cost of her new lease on life be more than Kera is willing or even capable of paying?

I enjoy mythology, and find Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken’s style to be very much to my taste.  I like fun, action, and ballsy heroines and heroes which this author always delivers.  I am definitely looking forward to where this series goes, as Laurenston has set up quite a group of interesting characters that are easy to connect with while looking forward to where their futures lead.  This was a great book and an interesting new series by an awesome author.

Ruckie

You can find Shelly Laurenston on her website and Facebook.

You can find me on my website, Facebook, or Twitter too!

7 thoughts on “The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston

    1. ruckasaurus says:

      Hey! Thanks for the comment! Another friend mentioned the prequel, too – I labeled the book as identified on her site and retailers. Hunting Season, while based in the same world, is listed as the first book in The Gathering series. It was a great story! I’m excited to see what happens with Chloe.

      1. ruckasaurus says:

        I’m wondering if she gets back with her ex?! Right now I’m in mourning over the last Guardians series book by Alexandra Ivy…why did it have to end?!

      2. paynepills says:

        I’ve tried to read one of hers, but it just didn’t stick. Right now I’m trying “Fractured Moon” by Ryanne Hawk. I’m not sure if I like it or not yet. Hey, could you review a book by request? It’s by my fav. author, Amy Lane, and it’s a update of a old f/m/m book of hers, “Vulnerable.” It’s so, so good.

Leave a Reply

