Azagoth by Larissa Ione – 1001 Dark Nights

Azagoth_1001DarkNightsAzagoth_larissaione
Don’t let the cover mislead you, people, there are hunky hunks and badass people in this book.  With a dark black background and a dandelion colored design, the 1001 Dark Nights designator seems to take up most of the cover, with the title squeezed in between the collection name and Larissa Ione’s mark at the bottom in a bold red.  The double zeroes of 1001 boast ruined columns resembling those of ancient Greece, and the upper body of a dark-haired male whose face is hidden as he bends forward.  Azagoth, the Grim Reaper, is the male lead in this story by award winning paranormal author Larissa Ione. The female lead is a time-traveling angel named Lilliana, who is much, much younger. This is a novella, coming out to a meager 159 pages, but I read it front to back in one sitting. This is not an “in between” book, it is definitely worth acquiring – especially for fans of the Lords of Deliverance/Demonica series. Azagoth is gritty and dark, and Lilliana projects functionality as well as sensuality without overdoing or underdoing it. The quality of male and female leads in this novella are easily comparable those seen in prior books by Larissa Ione, and there are a few cameos from the aforementioned series. This book is also part of the 1001 Dark Nights collection that is being worked by 12 very well-known writers, and I am looking forward to checking out more of their work because I was very impressed with this novella.

Ruckie

Larissa Ione can be found on her website, Facebook, or Twitter. Azagoth is available on Amazon (but not yet available on Barnes & Noble? Thanks Tania!).

You can check out 1001 Dark Nights on their website, Facebook, or Twitter.

You can find me at my website!

6 thoughts on “Azagoth by Larissa Ione – 1001 Dark Nights

  1. Tania says:

    Great review! I love Larissa Ione and am looking forward to this one. Just out of curiosity, did you buy it from Amazon or B&N? I cannot find it on the B&N website, which is frustrating as I have a Nook, not a Kindle.

    1. ruckasaurus says:

      Tania,

      Thank you for checking out my review! It looks like the last three 1001 Nights novels were published on B&N, but there is always a delay of weeks or in some cases months. I apologize for jumping the gun on the purchase reference! I always buy through Amazon because we have four Kindles in the family. I’ll ask around and see if they’re looking to release on B&N – are you on Twitter?

      Ruckie

      1. Tania says:

        No Twitter or Facebook for me…guess I am just anti-social… 😉 I will keep checking in with B&N – surely they will get it soon. I am really glad that I ran across your site because I am always looking for good authors, and it seems like we have similar taste in books. Thanks! 🙂

      2. ruckasaurus says:

        I am very flattered that you left a comment, and if you like paranormal romance (or historical, for that matter) then most of authors on my authors page at http://www.romancereviewsbyruckie.com might be of interest. I spent a lot of time compiling the list with a summary for each author. If you come across something that you like and I do not have it on my site, please pass me a recommendation! I loooove to read, and I love readers too! I still haven’t heard back from anyone about the B&N release, but as soon as I do I’ll hit you back!

        Ruckie

  2. Larissa Ione says:

    Hi everyone! Ruckie, I’m so happy that you liked Azagoth! I really had a lot of fun writing it, and I usually don’t enjoy writing novellas! 🙂

    To answer the B&N question…it WILL be available at all outlets, but not until September. The 1001 Dark Nights books are on a delayed 90-day release schedule, so Azagoth will follow their releases. The first 3 1001 DN books are available everywhere now, with the fourth releasing next month. Hope that helps.

    Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

